itskristin

the anti-inflammatory diet chronicles

it was a long time coming but it's finally here. this summer... Kristin will be taking on... the infamous, daunting, and insane... anti-inflammatory diet.

lord knows it wasn't by choice.

this really sucks so bad. but... why? I've been having a now-year-long flare-up of my HS autoimmune disease and my dermatologist asked me,

Do you know your triggers? and I, of course, responded Nope and so now, after dealing with this disease for the past 8 years, I'm figuring it out.

To put everything together in one place, here's what the anti-inflammatory diet consists of. You must cut out:

Anyhow, the diet begins with you taking all these things completely out of your diet for 3 weeks, and then week by week reincorporating each thing to see what could be causing your flare-ups. So, for example, I'm reincorporating garlic. I put garlic in my food for 2-3 days, then stop for the rest of the week to see how my body reacts. I do this with everything on the exclusion list. If I react badly, it's a trigger, and I have to cut it out. If I have no reaction, I can go back to eating it regularly. Fun times.

I'll be back to document every week about how things are going, recipes I'm trying, what I'm eating to substitute for all that I can't eat, etc. etc. Excited? Me neither.

may 12-18: the preliminaries

Reply via email

subscribe to the newsletter so you never have to miss a post ᯓ★

#lifestyle