itskristin

I ❤︎ guestbooks

before using this site, I had never known what exactly a guestbook was. on tumblr you'd maybe create a your world of text page, but those were prone to be defaced by the minions of whatever user you were beefing with. on twitter, my artist oomfs would make a wall that users could draw on, but I can't remember the name of that one. these were also prone to be defaced at a moment's notice.

so guestbooks are cool in that you can't really have it defaced, you can always put up some sort of precaution like a password to prevent spam from occurring. on those other sites, if someone wanted to erase all the kind words on your page, they could, and you'd never be able to recover them. I liked both the smartgb guestbook I had and the current one I've got. I think what makes it better is the very clear difference in culture on bearblog vs tumblr or twitter. what would beef look like on here? I hope to never find out, tbh.

but yeah. shoutout to guestbooks. big fan.

reply via email

#musings